Sun. Oct 1st, 2023

CASSINI Prize for Digital Space Applications

Apply before: April 03, 2023

CASSINI Prize in the field of digital space applications under the Horizon Europe Work Programme 2021-2022, Cluster 4, “Digital, Industry, and Space”. This Prize will be managed by the EU Agency for the Space Programme (EUSPA), pursuant to the contribution agreement concluded with the Commission and delegated to EUSPA, Section Prizes.

With the CASSINI Prize for digital space applications (“the Prize”), the EU intends to incentivise hightechnology space-based solutions to detect, monitor, and track plastic pollution in rivers, lakes, shores and coastal zones and to support its removal. The Prize award Europe’s leading SME innovators developing deep technologies and break-through solutions. The objectives of this Prize are:

  • to stimulate the development of innovative solutions using EU Space Programme data;
  • to solve problems or meet customer needs related to the detection, monitoring and tracking of plastic pollution, such as microplastics, plastic litter as well as larger plastic items, in rivers, shores and coastal zones and to support its removal in order to support the prevention of ocean pollution;
  • to attract dynamic innovators, to mobilise private investment


Eligible participants (eligible countries)

In order to be eligible, the applicants must be:

  • small and medium-sized enterprise (SME)
  • be established in one of the eligible countries,
    • EU Member States (including overseas countries and territories (OCTs))
  • non-EU countries:
    • countries associated to the Horizon Europe (associated countries) or countries which are in ongoing negotiations for an association agreement and where the agreement applies before the award


  • The prize budget is 2.85 Mio EUR. The first three ranked winners will receive the same prize of value 0.95 Mio EUR.

Application process

Click here to apply.

Applicant CountryAustriaBelgiumBulgariaCroatiaCyprusCzechiaDenmarkEstoniaFinlandFranceGermanyGreeceHungaryIcelandIrelandItalyLatviaLiechtensteinLithuaniaLuxembourgMaltaNetherlandsNorwayPolandPortugalRomaniaSlovakiaSloveniaSpainSwedenSwitzerlandTurkey
For more informationEuropean Commission


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *